Texmacs_home_path

Hi all, ok so I need to put my .TeXmacs directory in a non-standard location (a Google Drive folder under MacOS) in order to share it between my computers (a not that recent iMac and a recent Macbook Air). Unfortunately, setting the environment variable TEXMACS_HOME_PATH had no effect, so I did a hack of sorts making a symbolic link in my home directory pointing to the relevant place on my Google Drive folder. This works fine as far as sharing is concerned, yet there is one problem: autosave files (e.g. foo.tm~) are written but disappear almost instantly. Worse, I wasn’t able to determine where they go (which is quite strange for it’s own sake). So any help will be appreciated. Krzysztof

PS For the record I’ve been using TeXmacs for more than 10 years now, it’s an otherwise fantastic tool! The only one I can write math and think at the same time…

Hi @Kris and welcome to the forum.

If setting the environment variable TEXMACS_HOME_PATH cannot be done from the shell you are launching TeXmacs from (I do not have my Linux installation for a few days and cannot test it, but I take for good what you said that fits with something I recall hearing from @mgubi—that is that the variable is set internally when starting TeXmacs, I hope I remember well), maybe the following could work (it feels like a hack).

Set in each of the my-init-texmacs.scm files the following:

(setenv "TEXMACS_HOME_PATH" path-to-shared-folder)

Sessions now should see the shared folder as home path. I have made only one test, that is I write this command in my default my-init-texmacs.scm, started TeXmacs, opened my-init-texmacs.scm through the Developer menu and verified that TeXmacs opens the file in the directory I set.

I did not test the autosave files as I did not figure out when one such file is created, and I do not know if there are any other “side-effects”.