Developing Plugins for TeXmacs and Mogan

The question might be stupid since I am relatively new to Scheme, with my prior programming experience being limited to Matlab and Python in Visual Studio Code. Currently, I am working on a plugin to implement a feature discussed in this forum post: Algorithm2e for Texmacs, using TeXmacs as an IDE and testing the functionality by inserting the .scm files as plugins.

However, this development method proves to be challenging due to the lack of debugging tools and auto-complete functionality when using TeXmacs-specific functions. Is there any way to develop using tools like vscode? (As far as I know, I can get the auto-complete from vscode, but the debugging and the test still require TeXmacs.)

Moreover, I am concerned about the compatibility of the plugin with Mogan, given that Mogan and the original TeXmacs utilize different Scheme compilers.

We will release Mogan Code, in the very beginning, Mogan Code will be used to develop Mogan STEM Suite itself.

Moreover, I am concerned about the compatibility of the plugin with Mogan, given that Mogan and the original TeXmacs utilize different Scheme compilers.

Most of the time, the scheme usage of the plugin is very limited. It is more like for configuration. For example, th majority in the octave plugin is octave language (.m) itself. Because we are using different scheme interpreters, there are more effort to make it work for both Mogan and TeXmacs. There are tricks but it is not that hard.

For the plugin which you are developing, Algorithm2e, most code shoud be TeXmacs style language in .ts.

I think in this case you are referring to plugins that implement communication between LaTeX and another program, while @Jack_Li’s question is more general I think; TeXmacs packages which operate on the document may require extensive Scheme programming.