General questions regarding Texmacs

I recently started playing with Texmacs after it was recommended to me by a friend. I like it a lot, but there are couple of things I would like to do that are not apparent to me at the moment.

1. I downloaded the manual from this link. While reading it, I noticed the location of a lot of the menu items described in the manual do not match with the current version of Texmacs. Is there a more up to date manual?

2. What is the recommended way to create a cover page?

3. I noticed that there’s no listing environment. How does one define a new environment? Also, how does one build a list of such environments like list of figures?

4. Is it possible to integrate like minted to properly format code blocks?

1 Like

Hi, Welcome!

1. The full manual can be obtained from the Help (and I think in that case the key combinations will match your system, but I’m not sure). Apart from this, Joris wrote a book “The Jolly Writer” (TJW)with updated detailed informations.

2. There is no recommended way, as far as I know. You can create a table of the right vertical size, or just add some spacing around the title.

3. You can read the user manual on how to define new macros / environments, or TJW. There are also some info in the blog (https://texmacs.github.io/notes/docs/main.html) and some examples of macros and packages in the tm-forge repository (https://github.com/texmacs/tm-forge). Feel free to ask around in the forum for help.