Introducing TeXmacs to students: advice and support?

Hello there,

I was a little absent on the forums in the past weeks since the semester started. I am currently in my last year of a math postdoc at University of Virginia: teaching and applications are overwhelming.

At UVA we have a weekly or fortnightly meeting for students interested in math called Math Club.

I volunteered to do several workshops to introduce students to mathematical tools in computers

Some things I will talk about are

Geogerbra
I already use GeoGebra when teaching multivariable calculus and it is a fantastic tool for quick exploration of Euclidean geometry.

Jupyter and Mathematica
I will also mention Jupyter/Ipython and Mathematica/Wolfram Cloud as convenient CAS. I am not happy about advertising Wolfram Cloud, but I must admit to its convenience and ease of entry

** LaTeX and Tikz**
The usual suspects

TeXmacs
I really want to suggest to students to get acquainted with TeXmacs.

I must admit that while I am fully supportive of TeXmacs I feel a little self-conscious about talking about a tool that is not “mainstream” in academia. This is made more of an issue because of me being a more junior and non-permanent member of faculty.

For this reason, I wanted to ask for advice and moral support here. Have any of you had experience introducing students (especially lower-level undergrads considering math as a major) to TeXmacs?

I have seen multiple discussions about adoption of TeXmacs in journals/academic publishing. I fully agree with opinions about shortcomings of (La)TeX. However, has anyone ever encountered pushback and managed to find common ground? Any advice?

Finally, I wanted to make a comment about CAS. I believe Wolfram Mathematica has two very large advantages over Jupyter.