Modify Reference Macro

Hey there

I would like to modify the reference macro in my text so that instead of displaying just the number of the item it is referencing, that it displays the item-type (Theorem, Lemma, Example, …) and the number.

I.e. something like: … see Theorem 1.19. …

I found this entry, but as I am quite new to texmacs I would be glad if somebody can translate this into hardcode, so I can copy.

Any help is welcome, thank you very much in advance.

What you want are “smart references”, but these are somewhat tricky to use.
For instance, how to do “by Theorems 3 and 4”, “by Propositions 2, 3, and 5”, etc.?
Moreover, think about translating this correctly to all languages.
I introduced macros like that in LaTeX when writing my PhD,
but later found this to be more of a nuisance than a help.

But, of course, you are free to develop a “smart-ref” package.
In that case, you would indeed introduce a macro ‘smart-ref’ that
does what you want (preferrably with a variable number of arguments).
You may then retrieve typing info from the name of the macro,
or by looking directly at the environments around the corresponding label.
I would write the macro in Scheme, so as to deal with all aforementioned subtleties.

1 Like

Quoting from Joris’ answer

But, of course, you are free to develop a “smart-ref” package.

I have started writing such a package some time ago (https://github.com/pireddag/formatRef) and I think that although incomplete (it does not yet attempt at parsing multiple references) it can be used.

It follows the logic of LaTeX’s prettyref, where one defines prefixes for labels which determine the format;
Quoting again from Joris

or by looking directly at the environments around the corresponding label

that is the logic of LaTeX’s cleveref, and maybe that is better.